New Release Friday: 11 new songs out on June 5th

Our weekly New Release Friday roundup is here. Included are 11 awesome tracks spanning multiple genres.

XY&O – “Left Alone”

After a year of relative silence, Cardiff-based electronic/pop trio XY&O have today returned with another tune named “Left Alone”. Sonically, the house-influenced track continues their signature hazy style. The stimulating lyrics and arresting vocals adds another dimension to the already impressive instrumentation. As a release, “Left Alone” is the precursor to a full-length album that the band is preparing. XY&O is made up by Tudor Davis, Skip Curtis and Nick Kelly.

<<Find XY&O on Instagram>>

Sam The Astronaut – “Midnight Carlight”

Canadian pop duo Sam The Astronaut are re-emerging with a new song they’ve named “Midnight Carlight”. With their second album of the same title scheduled to drop on August 28th, this record comes as the lead single and, of course, title-track. Its fuzzy synth-driven sound carries layers of instrumentation that gives the song its immersive effect. “Midnight Carlight” offers the listener something to sing their heart out (while still dancing) to.

<<Find Sam The Astronaut on Instagram>>

Sola Rosa x Kiko Bun – “Searching For Love”

New Zealand producer & artist Sola Rosa is premiering a new song that features British singer Kiko Bun. The soulful jam is titled “Searching For Love” and has a special groove that befits Kiko’s style. Its sound is quite engaging and complements the refreshingly sweet lyrics. “Searching For Love” is the first single from Sola Rosa’s upcoming album titled Chasing The Sun.

<<Find Sola Rosa and Kiko Bun on Instagram>>

Sauti Sol x India Arie – “My Everything”

Over ten years in the game, Kenyan 4-piece band Sauti Sol are still motivated as ever. Today, they have dropped another LP; Midnight Train is their first full-length release on Universal Music. “My Everything” is one of the 13 tracks on the album. The song features legendary American songstress India Arie. It’s a great soulful piece.

<<Find Sauti Sol and India Arie>>

Drew Schueler – “Head Start”

Nashville-based pop newcomer Drew Schueler  returns with “Head Start”, a heartbreak-themed song. It finds the singer-songwriter getting honest and vulnerable in a way so relatable. Drew’s soft undulating voice soars over the stripped-back instrumentation to capture the listener’s senses. “Head Start” is a properly weaved song and a nice introduction to the musician.

<<Find Drew Schueler on Instagram>>

Harrison Storm – “Breathe Again”

Australian indie-folk musician Harrison Storm has just shared another gem. Although written together with Nick Atkinson and Edd Holloway, song comes from a personal place as it was inspired by a breakup. It is about the moment of clarity that arose from the otherwise devastating experience. Storm has a knack for such complicated topics and he delivers them with a sense of ease. “Breathe Again” is just magnificent.

<<Find Harrison Storm on Instagram>>

Emma Johnson’s Gravy Boat x Nishla Smith – “Where Were You Hiding?”

Emma Johnson’s Gravy Boat is a project led by Leeds-based saxophonist and composer Emma Johnson. Today, the contemporary jazz band has unveiled their first single which features Manchester based vocalist and composer, Nishla Smith. Penned about ‘seeing someone familiar in a new light for the first time’, it has a bewitching joyful allure.

Mike Xavier – “Sunset”

Mike Xavier has dropped a new song for the romantics. “Sunset” is an R&B/hip-hop tune with sexy vibes. With seductive lyrics covered in a smooth delivery, the song is definitely one to melt hearts. “Sunset” arrives ready for summer, the current situation notwithstanding.

Reece Lemonius – “Something I Can Feel”

Reece Lemonius has beautifully blurred the boundaries of R&B and pop with the song “Something I Can Feel”. The track carries that dark The Weeknd vibe mixed with lighthearted melodies. That combination extends throughout Reece’s new EP, Midnight, which has dropped today June 5th.

<<Find Reece Lemonius on Instagram>>

James Shealy – “The New Wave”

James Shealy is an Atlanta-based artist & producer – and one-half of James and Julia duo. His new song “The New Wave” is an enchanting pop/rock piece. With a production that inculcates an element distortion, the resultant sound is upbeat and energetic. The song is generally euphoric, both lyrically and musically.

<<Find James Shealy on Instagram>>

Mall Girl – “My Sweet Mall Girl”

“My Sweet Mall Girl” is the latest release by Norwegian indie pop band Mall Girl. It’s a uniquely crafted and sweetly odd tune that’s joyously refreshing. All that is thanks to the band’s creative experimentation style. Mall Girl comprises Iver Armand Tandsether (guitar), Bethany Forseth-Reichberg (vocals) Eskild Myrvoll (bass) and Veslemøy Narvesen (drums).

<<Find Mall Girl on Instagram>>

You can check out last week’s roundup here.

You've got a reaction to this post? Comment below:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.